In Define Lists, you can deactivate fields that you don't use in ACS.
Since deactivating fields clears the field's value from all records, we recommend performing a manual data backup before deactivating Define Lists fields.
Why should I deactivate fields?
When your church or organization set up ACS, maybe you weren't sure what you wanted to track. After staff changes and learning how to use ACS, you may wonder why you're tracking data that no one on your staff uses or lists that are partially filled in or not used at all.
You can also deactivate fields if the data in them is no longer important. For example, suppose several years ago, your church had a blood donor partnership with the American Red Cross. For several years, you tracked many individuals' blood types and blood donor status in ACS, so that when blood donations were needed, you could pull a report and call regular donors.
However, your board voted to permanently end this partnership five years ago. Your church no longer calls members when blood is needed, nor do you ask members for their blood type. Since you've had many newcomers, most records don't even have a blood type recorded. This is a good example of when you could deactivate this field.
What happens when I deactivate a field?
When you deactivate a field, the data in that field is permanently deleted. Deactivating a field also clears the field's value from all records in ACS.
Before you deactivate a field, be sure that no one on your staff nor any other organization (such as a denominational office) you may send data to will need this information in the future.
After you deactivate a field, it becomes a Not Defined field in Define Lists, and you can activate it to track other information in ACS.