Page tree

Site administrators can assign user roles to existing user accounts. For more information about available user roles in Extend, see Understanding User Roles.

Assigning User Roles

User roles determine the areas of Extend that each user can access.

Each Extend site plan includes a set number of administrative users. Once you reach the maximum number of administrative users included in your plan, the administrative user roles are not available. You must either purchase more administrative user accounts or remove administrative user roles from your existing users. For more information about adding more users to your plan, see Account and Plan Information.

 To assign a role to a user
  1. Point to Account, then click User Manager.
  2. In the User Manager list, select the user to whom you want to assign a role.
  3. Under Actions, click View/Edit Properties.
  4. Click the Roles tab, and select the roles you want to assign to the user. For more information, see Account and Plan Information.
  5. Click Save.

Removing User Roles

When necessary, site administrators can remove user roles from users to prevent them from accessing areas of Extend. Suppose an employee leaves your organization. The site administrator can remove all roles from the user account.

 To remove a role from a user
  1. Point to Account, then click User Manager.
  2. In the User Manager list, select the user to whom you want to assign a role.
  3. Under Actions, click View/Edit Properties.
  4. Click the Roles tab, and clear the user roles that you want to remove from the user. For more information, see Account and Plan Information.
  5. Click Save.

Once you remove all user roles from an account, you can assign the content items that the user owns to another user.

 To assign the content items to another user
  1. Point to Account, then click User Manager.
  2. In the User Manager list, select the user to whom you want to assign a role.
  3. Under Actions, click View/Edit Properties.
  4. Click the Roles tab, and clear all of the user roles that the user is assigned.
  5. In the Re-assign Content drop-down menu, select the user to whom you want to assign the content items.
  6. Click Save.